Greetings from the new library director

by

Note: you can now follow newsy updates for the Library through Twitter.

Hi, I’m Karen G. Schneider, the new director of the Cushing Library at Holy Names University.

I started last Friday, so I am still trying to find my way around the library and the campus. But I’m thrilled to be here, and delighted with the warm welcome this community has extended to me.

A little about me: I’m a native Californian who has lived half her life out-of-state. I’m back again (after moving away in 1979, then returning for 2001-2006) and I don’t plan to leave. I love California and I love libraries!

I also like reading, writing, cooking, travel, and exploring new technologies. I’ve worked in just about every type of library, but I particularly like leading smaller library organizations. The challenges are greater and the resources are stretched much farther, but small organizations offer opportunities for nimble transitions that would be impossible or at least very ponderous to implement for a “slow-turning barge.”

I look forward to meeting everyone. You will hear from us more often — beginning next Monday, we’ll have a weekly roundup of events and additions at the library (posted to this blog), and every day we’ll have at least one news item on our Twitter feed.  So stick around!

Leave a Reply

